GSW has ‘nothing left to prove’ in NBA finals

In a bid to secure the franchise it has long sought, the Phoenix Suns are set to open the NBA Finals against the Chicago Bulls.

The Suns have clinched a playoff spot in their first year of operation.

The win over the Bulls would seal the NBA’s longest active streak of consecutive conference finals wins, dating back to the 2005-06 season.

The series begins Thursday in Chicago and could last as long as five months.

Phoenix won in the first round of the 2016 NBA Finals over the Charlotte Hornets, who won the next two meetings.

The teams split two previous meetings this season, with the Suns winning in the third round in Phoenix and the Bulls winning in Chicago.

The Bulls won a franchise-record nine straight playoff series from 2013-15, including a pair of series sweeps in the 2015 NBA Finals.

Chicago will likely face the first-place Cleveland Cavaliers in the Finals, which will be played Wednesday in Cleveland.

The Cavs will host the second-place San Antonio Spurs, who lost to the Warriors in the opening round of this year’s playoffs.